27
Jun
07

Lifelong Entertainment

Growing up, I loved watching cartoons on Saturday morning. My absolute favorites were the Looney Tunes. They always made me laugh. Now that I’m older, I’m struck by how many small things went over my head. Bugs Bunny as the Barber of Seville is one example of the timeless quality that Chuck Jones put into all of his cartoons.

I compare the Looney Tunes to what passes for comedy and humor on television and in the movies. The latter usually come up short in comparison. “There’s only one test of a great children’s book, or a great children’s film, and that is this: If it can be read or viewed with pleasure by adults, then it has the chance to be a great children’s film, or a great children’s book,” said Chuck. (link)

I know there’s value in creating entertainment specific to children or adults. But I think we undervalue entertainment that appeals to both children and adults. The books that have stuck with me are, in many cases, the books that appealed to me as a child. I still love the Laura Ingalls Wilder books and the Anne of Green Gables series.

It takes a special talent to craft a book, a cartoon, or another medium and have it appeal over the life of its audience. It takes a particularly bold individual to even attempt to appeal to both the child and the adult. And the boldest won’t need special effects to succeed.

Comments?

4 Responses to “Lifelong Entertainment”


  1. June 29, 2007 at 2:56 pm

    my favourite memories as well. oh the wonderful summers spent (re)reading Laura (I discovered Anne in jr high). How about The Secret Garden?

    I love Looney Tunes and am still petitioning my husband to get that classic cartoon channel so I can watch them.

    Thank you for a beautiful post. 🙂

  2. 2 Britt
    June 29, 2007 at 5:47 pm

    Thank you…yes, “The Secret Garden” is a classic. I’m also a sucker for “The Little Princess.” New is good, but classics are special.


Leave a Reply

View Britt Raybould's profile on LinkedIn

Categories

Pages

June 2007
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

