10
Aug
07

Gnomedex: Friday Morning

Robert Steele opened Gnomedex, and based on some of the Twitters I read, wasn’t greeted with open arms by all. I’d venture a guess that the audience was more Democratic leaning rather than Steele’s more libertarian viewpoint. I know very little about Mr. Steele, but his address spoke about technology through the lens of politics. My too simple synopsis is shamed by Tris Hussey’s great write up of Steele’s presentation. He does a much better job than I could manage given I got here late.

I also noticed that tech bloggers are frustrated by a political presentation at Gnomedex. My take? The tech world ignores politics at its own peril. I do appreciate technology’s agnostic approach to most subjects. However, the tentacles of government will not leave technology alone, and hoping that the Internet will simply adapt to government intervention isn’t necessarily a plan.

Darren Barefoot followed, and I’m learning I stink at live blogging. So I’ve given up attempting to live blog. Anyway, Barefoot  combined a fantastic sense of humor with a great message. In essence, I came away thinking that action can accomplish things that money alone cannot. I also never knew that Canadians were happier than Americans.

The final speaker before lunch was Guy Kawasaki. Giving the audience a couple of topics to choosing from, Guy settled on evangelism. The key take aways included create something great and don’t let the bozos drag you down. Before hearing him speak, I was undecided what I thought about him. He had this amazing history with Apple and advancing evangelism, but then he launched Truemors this year, not a service I’m particularly enamored with. I’m happy to say that the former is much more applicable than the latter. He was engaging and focused, clearly a believer of what he’s promoting.

Lunch was fabulous, and I had a great conversation with Jason Harris and Josh Bancroft. Jason is a first timer too, like me, and Josh is on his third Gnomedex. Probably the best part of Gnomedex has been all the amazing people I’ve met. Everyone has been so friendly. I also have to point out that it’s not bad being one for the few women at a tech-oriented conference. It means no lines for the bathroom, a rarity at any large gathering.

Comments?

2 Responses to “Gnomedex: Friday Morning”


  1. August 13, 2007 at 8:38 am

    Hey Britt,

    Awesome meeting you this last weekend. I thought it was funny when your face lit up when I told you I knew where Idaho Falls is. Funny stuff.

    Hope you have a great Monday …talk to ya soon!
    Jason

  2. 2 Britt
    August 13, 2007 at 9:07 am

    I enjoyed our conversation, Jason. It made for an interesting lunch. Take care and enjoy your week.


Leave a Reply

View Britt Raybould's profile on LinkedIn

Categories

Pages

August 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

